Chocolate Ganache Brownies

If you like rich flavors, you will DIE for these brownies.  They are d.e.l.i.c.i.o.u.s.  The ultimate dark-chocolate lover’s dream – not too sweet, with an intense chocolate flavor, just what I like.  They make up for my brownie disaster last week, which was a total fail.

The idea to add the ganache came out of mere necessity.  I needed to use up the leftover ganache from my big little cupcakes, so I decided brownies would be perfect.

And they were.

This is the first recipe that I’ve really played around with, because I usually don’t have the guts to divulge from what’s printed.   The result of my ingenuity, however, was spectacular.  The ganache was literally boiling up over the brownies when I pulled them out of the oven.  Once they cooled, I had to give ’em a try.  They were chewy from the brownie batter and gooey from the ganache – perfect.

Warning:  These brownies are rich, considering the ganache is solely cream and chocolate, so be careful how many you eat.

My roommate, for example, regretted eating two in one sitting; she got a tummy ache from all the sugar.

Knowing myself, I’ll probably finish them by tonight  (no joke).  But really, I do have to control myself.  I don’t want to end up in the hospital from a sugar high.
.

Chocolate Ganache Brownies (from Allrecipes.com)

Ganache

Ingredients

  • 4.5 oz. semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions

  1. Pour the chocolate into a medium glass bowl
  2. Heat the cream in a small saucepan, until it boils.
  3. Immediately pour the boiling cream onto the chocolate.  Don’t let the cream boil for more than a second or it will over boil.
  4. Simply mix the cream and chocolate until the chocolate completely melts, leaving a silky smooth ganache.
  5. Refrigerate the ganache until it sets, for a couple of hours.

Brownies

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees, and grease a 9 x 9” baking pan.
  2. In a medium bowl, mix together the oil, sugar, and vanilla.  Beat in the eggs.
  3. In another bowl, mix the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder, and salt.  Slowly mix it into the egg mixture until well blended.
  4. Spread half of the batter onto the pan.  Evenly distribute small scoops of ganache on top of the batter.  Pour the second half over the ganache.
  5. Bake for 20-25 minutes.

The ganache distribution. (Not very pretty)

Update : So it’s been two days since I made these brownies.  There’s not one left.
I’m embarrassed.  Kate and I ate them ALL.
Okay, so we had some help from my big Sheridan, I’ll admit, but she ate two.  Not cool.  If I keep this up I’ll be huge.
…I guess I’ll stop baking these sugary dishes.          NOT.  
I’ll never stop!  Mwahahah.
Leave a Reply

