Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Frosting

 

This is Ina Garten’s cupcake recipe.  I knew it was perfect for my big little surprise.  Ina’s dishes are always of the highest quality, and these came out beautifully, as expected.

The whipped butter made the cakes so moist and fluffy.  And the buttermilk created a creaminess most cakes go without.  Unfortunately, I had already started the recipe when I realized I didn’t have buttermilk (I tend to do things like that).  However, it was crucial that I make these cupcakes, so I made the fastest Publix run of my life.

 

To frost the cupcakes, I made a decadent chocolate ganache.  Just heat some cream and pour it over chocolate, and the ganache is ready to go.  I originally intended for the ganache to fill the cupcakes, but I didn’t give myself enough time for the ganache to set in the fridge.  So, I simply dipped the tops of the cupcakes into the ganache, and viola, I had glossy, beautiful cupcakes for my little, Hanna.

Chocolate Cupcakes with Chocolate Ganache Frosting

Chocolate Ganache (from Allrecipes.com)

Ingredients

  • 4.5 oz semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup cream

Directions

  1. Pour the chocolate into a medium bowl.
  2. Heat the cream in a small saucepan until just boiling.  Immediately pour the cream onto the chocolate, and mix the chocolate until it completely melts.
  3. Once the cupcakes and ganache has cooled, dip the cupcake tops into the ganache to frost.

Cupcakes (from Ina Garten)

Ingredients

  • 12 tablespoons (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 extra-large eggs, at room temperature
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk, shaken, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sour cream, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons brewed coffee
  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup good cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees, and line 18 cupcake pans with greased paper liners.
  2. Cream the butter and 2 sugars until light and fluffy.  If possible, use an electric mixer – however, I whipped it by hand.
  3. Add the eggs one at a time, and then the vanilla.  Mix well.
  4. In a separate bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, sour cream, and coffee.
  5. In yet another bowl, mix together the flour, cocoa, baking soda, and salt.
  6. Alternately in thirds, add first the buttermilk mixture and then the flour mixture into the whipped butter, gradually incorporating everything.  Do not over blend the batter.
  7. Divide the batter halfway into the cups, and scoop a teaspoon of ganache into each cup.  Divide the remaining batter over the ganache to fill the cups.  Bake for 20 to 25 minutes.
  8. Allow to cool for at least 10 minutes before frosting.

 

Leave a Reply

